"An album that appears to be all about mood and texture transforms over time into a fully realised collection of beautiful songs from an artist determined to keep moving forward"

FIRST LIGHT is a new solo album by Dan Michaelson coming out through Conspiracy on 8th December. Michaelson's first album away from his band The Coastguards since 2011's Sudden Fiction, 'First Light' is the follow-up to last year's critically acclaimed 'Memory'.

Working closely with orchestral arranger Arnulf Lindner, aka Skeleton Key, 'First Light' focuses on the every day first moment of consciousness before past, future, cynicism and memory come into focus. Though considered by Michaelson to be "the most unpleasant moment of any day" the opportunity to write at this time became the working practice for the record and, as the writing progressed, reflection on those moments informed the songs further.

Although 'First Light' finds Michaelson experimenting with a full orchestral palette, echoes of his inspirations and life long heroes still rise to the surface. Album opener 'Careless' evokes the sparse, haunted landscape of Townes Van Zandt's 'Kathleen', the languid 'Someone Else's Dream' recalls Lee Hazelwood's lazy drawl, 'Old Kisses' is indebted to the intimate reflection of Leonard Cohen and 'Don't Let It Pass' summons the melodic build of 'Bryter Layter' period Nick Drake. Recorded over three weeks at The Premises Studios in London, 'First Light' features eight violins, four violas, two cellos, two double basses and the odd flash of trombone, all constantly shifting above, below and either side of Michaelson's staple vocal style.


Aggiungi un commento avvisami se ci sono nuovi messaggi in questa discussione Invia